A Re-Examined Life

Canberra girl’s mission to live a more natural, sustainable life.

Make it From Scratch – Face, Hand and Body Moisturiser Recipe

Leave a comment

coconutoilvsoliveoilcompare

I’ve always been a bit of a stickler for  having specific creams for specific purposes.  I have my face cream for my face, my hand cream for my hands, and my body cream for my body.  I had been on the hunt for recipes to replace both my both hand cream and my body moisturiser for quite some time, and I was particularly keen to find a hand cream as it was the middle of winter and my hands pretty much looked like this –

 detail_59_witch_gloves

I had been using coconut oil to try to deal with the hands situation, but found that it didn’t do a very good job.  I have since read that coconut oil is more of a skin “softener” than a moisturiser, it’s actually not that great at moisturizing.

All the recipes I found for handcream had too many ingredients, and were too complicated for my liking (for me, that generally means it has more than 3 ingredients, and takes more than 10 minutes), but I found a very simple body lotion recipe on the asnomagarden blog.  The recipe is for a beeswax lotion and it has the option of using 5 ingredients or 3, I obviously took the 3 ingredient option. I was happy to leave out vitamin E because I didn’t have any, and I was also happy to leave out the essential oils, as the recipe has quite a bit of beeswax in it and I have previously found that the scent of beeswax usually overpowers the scent of the essential oils.  Besides which, I quite like the honey-ish scent that beeswax gives anyway.

So this awesome lotion has only 3 ingredients, and I am yet to mention it takes about 5 minutes to make.  That is my kind of homemade beauty product 🙂

After about a month of using the body lotion on my body, I realised that my witch hands had gone.  So there was no need to continue looking for a hand cream recipe, my body lotion, became my hand and body lotion.  I then ran out of face cream,  and as I also hadn’t been able to find a simple face cream recipe,  I started using my hand and body lotion on my face.  I was pretty happy with the results, so my hand and body lotion has become my face, hand and body lotion.

I’ve since done a bit of reading and, as it happens, this simple coconut-olive-oil concoction has many benefits for your face.  If you are young enough to still get pimples, the coconut oil contains antibacterial, antiviral and antifungal things (yes, technical name, things) which can improve skin conditions like pimples and acne.  For those of us who would do anything for a pimple (because that would mean you had oil in your skin and probably wouldn’t have so many wrinkles), it also contains those crazy free-radical-fighting antioxidants that we have all heard about, and these guys help to prevent premature aging and other bad stuff.   The Olive oil contains vitamins which help to repair damaged skin, and these same clever vitamins also stimulate cells to make skin firmer and smoother, and I am sure we could all do with a bit of that 🙂

One thing I should note about using this on your face, is that you only need the tiniest bit, too much and you will end up with a very oily face, or if you are extra lucky like me, some oil in your eye.  The oil in the eye doesn’t exactly hurt, but it doesn’t exactly not-hurt either.  It is definitely best avoided 🙂

So here is how you can make it.

Face, Hand, and Body Moisturiser Recipe

IMG_0554

Ingredients

1/4 cup beeswax

1 cup olive oil

1/2 cup coconut oil

What to do

You just melt the beeswax and coconut oil in a saucepan, over a medium heat, and once melted stir in the olive oil. Pour into your containers.  Once it has started to set, grab a fork and whisk it around a bit, keep doing that every now and then until it is fully set.  This way it gets a that whipped, body butter feel about it.

That is it.

A note on containers, the picture above is the one I keep in my room, it’s in a recycled glass pickle jar 🙂

The one below is one I keep in my gym bag.

IMG_0553

Its in a recycled aluminium stackable container from T2 that I found at a garage sale, which I bought for $1 and it is perfect 🙂

IMG_0388

What kinds of containers do you have your homemade beauty products in?  Let me know in the comments below 🙂

 

Author: teagls

I am your ordinary Canberra gal, I'm a public servant, a mum, etc, etc... I'm on a mission to live a more natural and sustainable life and I'm looking to do it in the simplest, most cost effective way possible :)

Leave a Reply

