A Re-Examined Life

Canberra girl’s mission to live a more natural, sustainable life.

No Waste Christmas Part II – Recycled Christmas Wrapping

Leave a comment

I had the greatest time making all my Christmas presents this year, and I have to say, I rather impressed myself with the result.  My one criticism to myself was that I made WAY too many things, and that in itself probably doesn’t fit so well within the no-waste-christmas spirit, I just couldn’t help myself, I kept finding cool things to give to people :)  In fact, I hadn’t even realised how over the top I had gone until I was texting one of my very clever friends (who also made her christmas presents this year), and we shared the lists of what we were each making, my list kept going and going….. But I am hoping that the use of recycled and sustainable products within the presents and the wrapping, might make up for my mass production of gifts.

So everyone ended up with a hamper, along the lines of the one below.

IMG_1006

And some Christmas Sweeties, just like the ones below.

IMG_1007

Based on the stats in my last blog around Christmas present wrapping, I decided to try to go with all recycled items for wrapping my presents.

The trays I used for the Christmas sweeties were meat and fruit trays I recycled throughout the year, and the tissue paper was out of the boxes from some presents (beautiful candle lanterns) I got for my birthday this year.

The baskets I picked up at my local second-hand shop. I managed to find all of them at once.  The shop originally only had 2 baskets for sale, but when the very kind shop assistant found out I was after some more for my Christmas hampers, she offered to sell me the baskets they were using in the shop.  I happily accepted.

Recycled baskets

I wrapped everything in newspaper, and used some recycled ribbons and squiggly things from presents of days gone by.  One thing I will mention, if you are going to use newspaper for wrapping presents, it is a very good idea to check the contents of the news story on the pages you will be using first.  I didnt do this with my first hamper and ended up re-wrapping it due to the lack of Christmas cheer in the stories on the pages I had wrapped it with 

The wrapped hamper.

recycled christmas wrapping ideas

The wrapped sweeties.

recycled christmas wrapping ideas

And lastly, I cut toilet rolls in half and ironed them flat and then cut them up to make the cards.

I know you are dying to find out all the fabulous items in the hampers and sweeties, but you will have to wait till next time….

Happy New Year :)

Author: teagls

I am your ordinary Canberra gal, I'm a public servant, a mum, etc, etc... I'm on a mission to live a more natural and sustainable life and I'm looking to do it in the simplest, most cost effective way possible :)

Leave a Reply

